Anti-media, aliens, hippies and the 80s subculture in North London(Anti-Media Stories part 1).


“Anti-Media”= a very small bunch of radical loonies including me. We need them now!
Names of some of my Anti-Media associates have
been changed to protect them.

How I was recruited …. Back in the early eighties……

The Anti-Media people had seen my alien act at “The Chainsaw Party” a crazy spoof heavy metal gig we put on (more of that in another blog) and because the main song I did referred to TV personalities and programmes from the sixties and eighties they felt I was right enough for them.
The song I did called “She just desperately wants hippies” was co-written one evening a couple of months before between myself ,Richard, Michael and Bob at a house in Finchley just after Bob and I had had an argument . It was originally about a girl we knew who came from outside London to the gigs we organised to look for hippies to go out with. I suggested I got dressed as an alien who had come from another planet coming to earth looking for hippies and turned this into an act for our forthcoming “The Chainsaw Party”.
My alien character having seen earth TV through satellite television broadcasts , thought it was 1969 not 1984 as the TV signals had taken 15 years to reach my planet. So my character had come from Planet Foam to Planet Earth looking for hippies and found none because it was the eighties when young people wore suits and were yuppies in wine bars, with mobile phones the size of house bricks and wore smug glasses. In my imagination my alien character chose to come to our psychedelic gigs where the second generation hippies gathered to see “Treatment” and other psychedelic/punk bands. My character was a pop star on Planet Foam and so was touring the Universe with her hits. I suffer from horrendous stage nerves /lack of confidence and having a character to hide behind meant I could unleash whatever I wanted. The song ” She just desperately wants hippies” had absurd TV references . Some of the words were quite rude ( a certain “Mastermind” quizmaster having carrots stuck up his bottom…Bob’s line not mine!).
Bob dared me to sing it dressed as an alien and that’s how Astragone Arglegargle was born.
( I hope no one from Magnus Magnusson’s family ever reads or hears about it! If so…it was nothing personal he just had great aliteration in his name)

During my first performance at The Chainsaw Party I was pelted with mud from the mud-wrestling pit by some skinheads but I continued and won the audience over and as soon as I got off stage four people booked me for gigs including Hogan and Richard of Anti-Media .
Hogan had just started working with us by projecting his experimental super 8 films at our gigs and Richard I had met before at Bob’s place where he was staying, I think they had gone to the same school together.
Hogan was wearing a cream coloured polyester 70s suit and geeky glasses and slightly long hair. In London in 2007 this might be considered a fashionable or interesting “retro” look but in 1984 it was very uncool. Even in our anarchic gathering you had to have a uniform to identify you as a hippie or a biker or a punk or a goth or even a pratt new romantic , but this identified him as someone who defied fashion and labels. Richard looked like a cross between Norman Bates in Psycho ( sorry Richard) and Mike Nesbitt from the Monkees but without a woolly hat. He was dressed in drainpipe trousers and neat shirt with short hair and so he also stuck out from our crowd of crazily dressed hippies, punks and bikers. At subsequent gigs I remember Richard with his “normal look” but if you looked down on his feet he wore cloven hooves a bit of a give-away that all was not quite conforming to normality.

When I asked Hogan and Richard what kind of gig they wanted to book me for they were evasive and said it was an “Anti-Media Event” and they gave me flyers which were abstract and said virtually nothing . When I asked them if it was like an art event in the 60s where art students went through a town at night and would paint all the street furniture and anything they could lay their hands with red paint they looked at me and said “Maybe”. I found it hard to take them seriously at first but they took themselves very seriously they were such nice people and clearly brave crazy intellectuals. Although I was part of Anti-Media I kept to the sidelines to a certain extent as I was busy with my son and the gigs Michael and I were running plus I was recording and performing and at that time I started a charity with a friend too so I was very busy. My stories therefore about Anti-media are only the tip of the iceberg. In the end it got too extreme for me and I had to quit.In order to keep this fairly chronological …..“In the next thrilling episode of my blograma…..my first Anti-Media Event and more ranting “

Goings on in Pentameters Theatre:Anti-Media event, rantings on TV, fashion slavery and incompetent policemen(Anti-Media stories part 2)

1 Comment

  1. I apologize if this reply, or one similar, appeared somewhere else. The reason I’m replying again is because I can’t seem to locate my first attempt. At any rate . . .

    I’m trying to find out about a comic book that Anti-Media supposedly published entitled “Stop! Think Crossout.” Do you happen to have any recollection of it, or know if Anti-Media published any other comics?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

